Modern Level 2


This class is taught by:

Michaela Ellingson

Michaela Ellingson is a Jackson Hole native and teaches Pilates, Barre Fusion and dance for the School at DW. Michaela was first introduced to Pilates as a student herself at DW. She received her Pilates Certification with Simona Cipriani through the Art and Science of Contrology Pilates Training Program in Purchase, New York. She taught at Exhale Pilates and New York Pilates Studio in London. She is thrilled to teach Pilates equipment and mat classes at Dancers' Workshop.
 
2x per week: Tuesday & Thursday
 
Modern dance explores movement, space, rhythm, and the dancers’ own creativity with emphasis on deliberate use of gravity, using the floor to explore movement, and exploring nature, music, art, and human emotions as impetus for movement. Proper alignment and use of breath are emphasized and progresses into investigating quality of structural form, oppositional energy, moving through space, directional changes, fall and recovery, speed, and performance quality. Meets twice per week.
 
*Please note that ballet and modern dance are at the core of Dancers’ Workshop’s curriculum. It is highly recommended that students study Ballet and Modern at the same level simultaneously.
 
Modern 1 begins at 9 years old and students will advance to higher levels as they master the curriculum as evaluated by their instructor and the School Director. Students who were in a level higher than basics last school year will take a placement class at the beginning of this school year to determine their starting level for the semester. Students will be placed in the level that maximizes their learning potential and can be advanced at any time.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Jan 22 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Jan 24 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Jan 29 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Jan 31 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Feb 05 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Feb 07 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Feb 12 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Feb 14 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Feb 19 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Feb 21 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Feb 26 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Feb 28 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Mar 05 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Mar 07 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Mar 12 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Mar 14 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Mar 19 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Mar 21 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Tue Mar 26 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson
  • Thu Mar 28 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Michaela Ellingson