Modern Level 1 (9yrs+)


This class is taught by:
 
2x per week: Tuesday & Thursday 
 
Modern dance explores movement, space, rhythm, and the dancers’ own creativity with emphasis on deliberate use of gravity, using the floor to explore movement, and exploring nature, music, art, and human emotions as impetus for movement. Proper alignment and use of breath are emphasized and progresses into investigating quality of structural form, oppositional energy, moving through space, directional changes, fall and recovery, speed, and performance quality. Meets twice per week.
 
*Please note that ballet and modern dance are at the core of Dancers’ Workshop’s curriculum. It is recommended that students study Beginning Ballet simultaneously with this class.
 
Modern 1 begins at 9 years old and students will advance to higher levels as they master the curriculum as evaluated by their instructor and the School Director. Students who were in a level higher than basics last school year will take a placement class at the beginning of this school year to determine their starting level for the semester. Students will be placed in the level that maximizes their learning potential and can be advanced at any time.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Sep 11 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Sep 13 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Sep 18 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Sep 20 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Sep 25 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Sep 27 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Oct 02 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Oct 04 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Oct 09 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Oct 11 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Oct 16 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Oct 18 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Oct 23 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Oct 25 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Oct 30 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Nov 01 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Nov 06 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Nov 08 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Nov 13 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Nov 15 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart