Modern Level 1 (9yrs+)


This class is taught by:
 
2x per week: Tuesday & Thursday 
 
Modern dance explores movement, space, rhythm, and the dancers’ own creativity with emphasis on deliberate use of gravity, using the floor to explore movement, and exploring nature, music, art, and human emotions as impetus for movement. Proper alignment and use of breath are emphasized and progresses into investigating quality of structural form, oppositional energy, moving through space, directional changes, fall and recovery, speed, and performance quality. Meets twice per week.
 
*Please note that ballet and modern dance are at the core of Dancers’ Workshop’s curriculum. It is recommended that students study Beginning Ballet simultaneously with this class.
 
Modern 1 begins at 9 years old and students will advance to higher levels as they master the curriculum as evaluated by their instructor and the School Director. Students who were in a level higher than basics last school year will take a placement class at the beginning of this school year to determine their starting level for the semester. Students will be placed in the level that maximizes their learning potential and can be advanced at any time.

Upcoming classes:

  • Tue Jan 22 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Jan 24 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Jan 29 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Jan 31 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Feb 05 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Feb 07 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Feb 12 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Feb 14 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Feb 19 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Feb 21 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Feb 26 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Feb 28 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Mar 05 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Mar 07 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Mar 12 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Mar 14 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Mar 19 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Mar 21 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Tue Mar 26 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart
  • Thu Mar 28 5:00 pm - 6:00 pm with Megan Stewart